Thursday, 3 April 2014

The Miles Franklin 2014 Longlist

Australia’s most prestigious literary award was established through the will of the writer Stella Miles Franklin, best known for her novel My Brilliant Career. The bequest came as a surprise to the literary world as Franklin had told nobody – save her trustees – of her plans.

Miles Franklin had first-hand experience of the struggle to make a living as a writer and was herself the beneficiary of two literary prizes. She was also extremely conscious of the importance of fostering a uniquely Australian literature. She wrote,

"Without an indigenous literature,
people can remain alien in their own soil."

Accordingly, the Award is presented each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

The Miles Franklin was first awarded in 1957. Since then, the annual announcement of the winner has become an event anticipated and discussed throughout Australia and around the world.

The Life and Loves of Lena Gaunt by Tracy Farr

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan The Railwayman's Wife by Ashley Hay

Mullumbimby by Melissa LucashenkoThe Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane

 Belomor by Nicolas RothwellGame by Trevor Shearston

My Beautiful Enemy by Cory TaylorEyrie by Tim Winton

The Swan Book by Alexis WrightAll the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld

Buy these books at Abbey's (131 York Street Sydney) ~ An Aladdin's cave for readers

Abbey's ~ An Aladdin's cave for readers

No comments: