Wednesday, 16 September 2009

The Science Book of the Year is Announced

Richard Holmes' The Age of Wonder has been chosen as the winner of the 2009 Royal Society Prize for Science Books. We currently have the hardback in stock. The paperback is due in November.

In The Age of Wonder Richard Holmes investigates how a fascination for science swept across Britain at the end of 18th century, using the stories of the scientists involved to engage the reader. The book covers a variety of disciplines including astronomy, chemistry, botany, philosophy, and even poetry, as it explores how the science of the time evolved.

The other five shortlisted titles were:

What the Nose Knows: The Science of Scent in Everyday Life by Avery Gilbert

Bad Science by Ben Goldacre

Decoding the Heavens: Solving the Mystery of the World's First Computer by Jo Marchant

The Drunkard's Walk: How Randomness Rules our Lives by Leonard Mlodinow

Your Inner Fish: The Amazing Discovery of our 375-million-year-old Ancestor.

No comments: